Will Justin Holland be 1st Rockwall Republican ever elected to represent our County in TX House?


ROCKWALL – Will Heath Council member and Regal Realtors owner Justin Holland become the first Rockwall County Republican to ever be elected to represent Rockwall County in the Texas House?

If he wins the May 24 Republican Primary Run-Off Election for Texas House District 33, he will be well on his way since Rockwall County votes overwhelmingly Republican nowadays.

But it wasn’t always that way.

All 13 previous Rockwall County residents to serve in the Texas House were Democrats:

  • Thomas Ridgell, 1913-1915
  • Jeff Cox, 1907-1911
  • E.D. Foree, 1905-1907
  • James Reese, 1903-1905
  • John Goodman, 1899-1902
  • Henry Manson, 1897-1899
  • Bunyon King, 1893-1897
  • James Crayton, 1889-1891
  • Ephraim Heath, 1887-1889
  • Milton Austin, 1885-1887
  • J.D. Parsons, 1883-1885
  • William Price, 1876-1879
  • A.D. Edwards, 1874-1876

(Names and dates furnished by Justin Holland campaign)

Frisco City Council Member John Keating received the most votes in the March 1 Texas Primary Election with 9,761 votes, or 37.6 percent of the votes.

Holland received 8,532 votes, or 33 percent.

Former Heath Mayor Lorne Liechty received 7,640 votes, or 29.5 percent, and was eliminated.

The May 24 Run-Off Election winner will replace Frisco Republican Scott Turner, who is retiring from the seat, and face Rockwall Democrat Karen Jacobs in the Nov. 8 general election.

Early voting for the Run-Off Election runs this week only through Friday at 5 pm.

Click here to see where and when you can vote this week and on May 24.



What do you think?


Connect with us